My thoughts about Palladio and visualizations

By visualizing the data we were given with the help of Palladio, I was able to learn more about the Cushman Photograph Collection. I also learned how to narrow down data on a map and in a gallery with Palladio because I followed the steps in the “Getting Started with Palladio” handout.

I first visualized the data with a map, so I could see where Cushman took his photographs. I then narrowed down what data about the photographs appeared on the map until I only had a few data points remaining.

The map before refining the data.
The map before refining the data.

Genre 1 was the first facet dimension I used to filter my data. After I clicked cityscape photographs under this facet, I was able to see on the map where Cushman took photographs of cityscapes.

The map after refining with facet, Genre 1.
The map after refining with facet, Genre 1.

After I filtered the data by clicking on cityscape photographs, I added the facet dimension called Topical Subject Headings 1. I was then able to see on the map where Cushman took photographs of buildings after I clicked that facet.

The map after refining with facet, Topical Subject Headings 1.
The map after refining with facet, Topical Subject Headings 1.

The third and final facet dimension I chose was Topical Subject Headings 2. I was able to see on the map where Cushman took photographs of dwellings, after I clicked the dwellings facet.

The map after refining with facet, Topical Subject Headings 2.
The map after refining with facet, Topical Subject Headings 2.

After I only had a few data points appearing on the map, I clicked on gallery so I could see what the photographs actually look like. However, before I could filter the data or see the photographs, I had to pick what information from each category the gallery would display.

The gallery before picking the categories for it to display.
The gallery before picking the categories for it to display.

For the Title category, I chose city and state and for the Subtitle I picked genre 1. For the Text category, I chose description from notebook. I chose PURL for the link URL and Image URL for the image URL. I then sorted the data by the date. After I picked all the categories, I then used the facets to filter my data so I could view the photographs.

The gallery showing the categories for it to display.
The gallery showing the categories for it to display.

Genre 1 was the first facet dimension I used to filter my data. After I clicked cityscape photographs under this facet, I was able to see Cushman’s photographs of cityscapes.

The gallery after refining with facet, Genre 1.
The gallery after refining with facet, Genre 1.

After I filtered the data by clicking on cityscape photographs, I added the facet dimension called Topical Subject Headings 1. I was then able to see the building photographs after I clicked the facet called buildings.

The gallery after refining with facet, Topical Subject Headings 1.
The gallery after refining with facet, Topical Subject Headings 1.

The third and final facet dimension I chose was Topical Subject Headings 2. I was able to see photographs of dwellings, after I clicked the dwellings facet.

The gallery after refining with facet, Topical Subject Headings 2.
The gallery after refining with facet, Topical Subject Headings 2.

My biggest challenge in creating my visualizations was remembering not to refresh my web browser, because if I did, I would lose what I had been working on and have to start over.

I can see myself maybe using Palladio for my final project. However, if I used Palladio, I would have a much smaller collection of photographs than the Cushman Collection. I also would not be able to map my photographs because they were all taken at the same place. But, I might be able to put each photograph into multiple categories which would allow people to view photographs in the gallery option on Palladio. However, I plan to put my photographs in different exhibits on my website and all of the photographs in an exhibit would have something in common. I feel like the exhibits on my website would do something similar to what the gallery does on Palladio.

I really liked visualizing the Cushman Photograph Collection on Palladio because I had the handout as a guide and was able to figure out a few things on my own. Even though the website was updated, I did not have any issues figuring out what I was supposed to be doing. I also liked being able to see where Cushman took his photographs on a map and being able to see the photographs in the gallery because I filtered the data.

Leave a Reply

